Smoking Caffeine

“…. It’s only words.
And words are all I have
To take your heart away…”

I took a sip of coffee again as the Boyzone number streamed into my ears via the headsets. The moon was my only companion as I walked down the lonely road. The hazy, yellow light  from the lamp-posts appeared here and there. I gulped down the coffee. And then I opened my mouth and breathed out, letting out a warm sigh in the process. I gulped another sip of coffee inhaling the hardly-existing aroma of the coffee.  I held the Nescafe-cup with the same stance as I had seen people holding cigarette.

“… Talk in ever lasting words
and dedicate them all to me
and I will give you all my life… ”

I find this song very beautiful and strange. I started humming the song with the Boyzone and thus totally forgot the ‘”Et tu Brute, Then fall Caesar” episode that was till then weighing down on me. The cool breeze silently embraced me in its amiable flow.

“… this world has lost its glory
let’s start a brand new story
now my love .. ”

Love. Love? Yes, love! Four letters, one word, but has got the entire world within itself. The previous night I had been an engrossed audience to a lively discussion between two friends of mine- one supposed to be in love and the other supposed to be a veteran in this field.  They discussed at length the various topics in this subject with great interest.

” You need to start it off with a good friendship. Talk to her as often as possible. If you do not get ample reasons, then create some. Be caring and lively. And when you be with the girl put on a good sense of humour. Girls love guys with some sense of humour though most of them hardly have even sense, forget about  sense of humour. Take this friendship to heights. Make it such that she is always greeted by you, maybe via SMS, phone calls, and the likes. Make it a point to keep disturbing her all through the day. Then one fine morning when she has grown accustomed to your too frequent antics, cut-off all contacts with the girl. Let her miss you. Make her realise that you are a part of her life.” said the love- guru with an airs of confidence all about him.

The one supposed to be in love was staring at the guru’s face with his mouth wide open. Finally he closed his wide mouth and put forth this vital question, ” Is it going to work?”

Love-guru already had a reply ready-made for this. He spoke again, ” Of course it will. She will realise your absence and come running to you with a red-flower in her hand and an ‘I Love You’ on her lips. It will work . It’s a tested formula, buddy.”

“… this world has lost its glory
let’s start a brand new story
now my love…
you think that I don’t even mean
a single word I say…”

The chorus of the song brought me back to the present world. Of course the remnants of that discussion were very much there in my mind. I had thought a lot about it. And every time I replayed the discussion in my mind, my heart felt negative vibes pumping through it. Love is not a game; it’s an emotion and that too a lovely one. How can we strategize this thing, was what I could not understand? Of course each is entitled to his own opinion, but still I cannot fancy this new picture of  love. The orthodox form of love that is portrayed in cinemas- what with the meeting of eyes, breeze starts blowing, songs emanate from the background, spring descends on the entire earth, and maybe the girl’s dupatta is blown in the rampaging wind- strikes chords in my heart. Though it maybe far-fetched in real life , but its far better than playing games on your dame or lad.

As one of the prolific thinkers of this age, Antoine de Saint Exupery said ” Experience shows that love does not consist in gazing at each other but looking together in the same direction.” Of course, this emotion is far complicated for our tiny minds to understand. No one has ever understood it completely, no one will be able to do it ever. But why not leave these unnecessary complications to the one called God and be enchanted by  its simple beauties. The song, by now was over and I recognised the silence around for the first time.

Suddenly, the breeze started blowing  stronger. The cool breeze transmitted dozes of relaxation to my brain. I forgot all about  love and life.  I realised the supreme joy in every little details of creation. I just let myself be.

Photo-Credits: myhodgepodgerie.blogspot.com

About zeeshan

We are the twinkle in the eyes of oblivion.

15 comments

  1. Ah wise words by the love guru indeed! He made love seem like a game to be won. Sadly though, that’s exactly what so much of the youth feels today.
    I loved the way you interspersed the song with your words. Made for lovely reading! 😀

    • Yes, the youth needs a tug at its understanding of love maybe. But of course, love comes in numerous shades and colours. Thanks for dropping by. Take care. 🙂

  2. an amazing portrayal of your praiseworthy thoughts… hats off to your perspective!!

  3. Yasir

    Hats off to u…u seem to paint a picture in the readers mind…i have been reading ur blogs lately n I must confess that I ve become ur fan…keep on …..kudos…..

  4. I would like to say at this post that this is what i would call perfection. A li’l blend of emotions and your art of writing makes the perfect recipe for a captivating post zeeshan.

    • Thanks a million tons Shashank, first for coming here and then of course for your highly encouraging words. It has given me a great boost and encouragement to keep pushing ahead. Thanks. 🙂

  5. Sid

    i read your post and realize how much there is to learn, how to engross a mind into your words..a good post sir 🙂

  6. Someone’s in search of something it seems 😉
    ‘Mast’ post !

  7. everakid

    Keep writing like this, and someday I’ll tire of complimenting you.
    But not today.
    That was amazing. Thanks for standing up and saying that love is something deeper, more powerful. than a fleeting entertainment.
    Pranam babaji! 😀
    And a good song to go with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

