Blue Beans and Beggar

Blue beans,
And the lonely leaves
Shiver in the wind;
But the beggar won’t go away.
A moment he stares
At the beans on the billboard,
And then at his amulet.
He wants a coin, he says.
So I toss a tenner towards him.
He picks up the note,
And looks very quaintly as if
It is a map of some lost island.
“Don’t you have coins?” he asks.
I check my pockets:
Two rupees in there-
That’s all.
“I will have that”, he says,
And hands me the tenner back
With a spark on his face.
I pass him the coin:
And then look at the glowing bill board,
And the blue beans,
And the shivering leaves.

About zeeshan

We are the twinkle in the eyes of oblivion.

Leave a Reply

